Thursday Doors – August 13, 2020

Thursday Doors is a weekly feature allowing door lovers to come together to admire and share their favorite door photos from around the world. Feel free to join in on the fun by creating your own Thursday Doors post each week and then sharing your link in the comments below, anytime between Thursday morning and Saturday noon (North American eastern time). 

Ruelles Vertes in Rosemont/Petite-Patrie, Montréal (Part #5)

Before I get started just a reminder that this is the last Thursday Doors post until Thursday September 10th. I’m taking a much-needed 3-week blogging break. This means there will be no Thursday Doors on August 20th, 27th, and September 3rd. During that time feel free to continue with your own posts if you wish but there will be no link-up post here, and in case you were wondering, no there’ll be no guest-host in my absence.

This week wraps up my recent explorations in my old neighbourhood in the city. Most of these are from the Green Lane-Ways but a few are from adjoining streets and were too nice to save for another time.

This one for example with the nice decorative glass.

Or this one for its cheerful colour, though I’m not sure I agree with the decision to have the address numbers match the door colour.

I forgot how tight the space is in these back alley parking garages. Even with today’s compact cars a passenger would have to get out before the driver pulls in more to one side in order to leave enough space be able to open their own door to step out.

I’d say this one hasn’t seen much action this summer.

Seeing one of these always makes me smile.

Camera surveillance? Of what exactly?

Nothing particularly noteworthy about this one…

Except for the clever idea for a doorbell 😀

More fun colours here.

Rustic beauty in the heart of the city.

As always: thanks for looking and enjoy the break. I know I will 🙂 

To share your own Thursday Doors post just paste your link in the comments section below so that others can visit and have a look at your discoveries. Remember: you have until noon eastern North American time on Saturday to add your link.

Don’t forget to take a few minutes to visit some of the Thursday Door posts shared by our other contributors.

Want to join in on the fun and share your own Thursday Doors post with other door lovers? Then simply add the link to your post in the comments section below.

About Norm 3.0

World’s youngest grumpy old man & heart failure wonder boy. Interests: writing, woodworking, photography, travel, tennis, wine, and I know a bit about power tools.
This entry was posted in Photo Challenges, Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

74 Responses to Thursday Doors – August 13, 2020

  1. slfinnell says:

    Marching ants on a door. Can’t get better than that! 😉 And zip tied door bells could signify that a redneck may live there lol Not that I’d know or anything hehe
    Sharing my latest Covid Drive results: https://katytrailcreations.com/2020/08/15/shackelford-road-bridge-thursdaydoors/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Looking at the Iron Maiden of Fagarar Castle – and some doors one might not want to open – https://alluringcreations.co.za/wp/iron-maiden-fagaras-castle/
    Kind thanks for this week’s Thursday Doors, Norm.
    Stay safe.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Well, I’m glad I remembered to get something up tonight or I would have really missed the train; wishing you a nice 3 week break, Norm and I hope you can get away from the sheltered in place to relax. I still envy your find on the Ruelles Verte.

    I’m doing a short post from where I left off in Fes, Morocco. Here’s my link:

    Fes Doors, Continued

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jennie says:

    This was delightful, Norm. I especially liked the “doorbell”. Enjoy your well deserved time off. See you in September.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I like that lemon-yellow door. Very brave.

    I have a well-decorated doorway this week: https://anotherglobaleater.wordpress.com/2020/08/13/walking-through-a-small-village/

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love this eclectic neighborhood. The horn is a hoot, and the surveillance sign made me laugh because there is a dilapidated house down the road with a very similar sign. The little library is handsome but the narrow garage, well, it reminds me of ours as far as driving in so that didn’t make me smile. 🙂 Have a great vacation, Norm.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Linda Schaub says:

    Can we blame the lack of attention to the grass and weeds on the heat? Oh well. Have a great blogging break Norm.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Danny James says:

    Have a great time away. Will miss Thursdays!!

    A Door in Delphi Greece

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Teresa says:

    First of all, have a great deserved break and see you in a few weeks time. Loving all your shots, especially the yellow door and that innovative doorbell of a bike honk. Haha Here is mine https://mywanderings.travel.blog/2020/08/14/notting-hill/

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Really drawn to the shockingly yellow door in the second photo! So interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. scooj says:

    Green Lane Ways is so on my bucket list.

    Rushed mine a little: https://scooj.org/2020/08/13/thursday-doors-13-august-2020/

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Here is my counter door post, meaning that it’s more symbolic than doorful this time around. The name of the valley means “door”, you see.

    Thursday Doors, 13/8/20: Mojstrana and Vrata

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Hi Norm, Nice collection of neighborhood doors. The vibrant yellow door is a real eye-catcher. I thought about you when I came across a lending library “bird house” in San Juan Bautista this week. Here’s my post:

    Thursday Doors – San Juan Bautista

    Liked by 1 person

  14. HI Norm, I hope you enjoy your break. I enjoyed your door collection this week, especially the rustic one. Here is my post: https://robertawrites235681907.wordpress.com/2020/08/13/thursdaydoors-auckland-and-rotorua-new-zealand/

    Liked by 1 person

  15. lolaWi says:

    interesting selections, Norm. i love the last one, so charming! have a great break. here is mine: https://lolawi.blog/2020/08/13/random-doors/

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Debbie Smyth says:

    Some great doors as ever, Norm. I loved the hint of rustic charm and the bright yellow door, and the door bell is a winner – I might try that myself!
    Here is my colourful door with stately knockers: https://travelwithintent.com/2020/08/13/school-entrance-london/
    Have a great break – see you in September 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  17. A lovely send-off to your break. Until five minutes ago I thought that today was Wednesday. So much about my presence of mind. It’s been around 40 since I returned and my brain has gone into the lizard mode. I’ll see what I can do… Happy and relaxing three weeks to you!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Norm 2.0 says:

      Thanks Manja. Yes it’s feels like this summer Thursdays are coming around faster than usual, which is why I feel a need for a break. Take it easy in the heat and see you in September 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  18. I love door 1124 at the start of your blog, Norm. Have a wonderful break from blogging and return refreshed in September. https://drprunesquallor279704606.wordpress.com/2020/08/13/hypertension-1/

    Liked by 2 people

  19. Hi Norm, You’ll get to smile a lot, because I’m sharing a Retro Posting of my ‘Little Library’ doors from a project I had last winter…….

    Retrospective: We are Looking Back to January for these ‘Doors’

    Liked by 2 people

  20. Love seeing the images of the doors you post …Enjoy your break.
    Here’s mine. https://100countrytrek.com/2020/08/13/thursday-doors-august-13-2020/

    Liked by 2 people

  21. A beautiful assortment to end this month, Norm.

    I love the yellow door. Inviting and energizing. And the repurposed doorbell, like a wink on the doorstep.

    Have a much deserved break. Have fun, stay safe.
    See you in September.

    Liked by 2 people

  22. tgeriatrix says:

    The firstr one lookslike an old cupboard my aunt used to have. And I like the doorbell – of course not in my neighborhood. Enjoy your break, we will miss you!

    Doors to business

    Liked by 2 people

  23. I love the little library and the doorbell is definitely very different. The last image is my favourite. Here’s mine for this week, thanks Norm. https://jeanreinhardt.wordpress.com/2020/08/11/thursday-doors-seek-art-festival-continued/

    Liked by 2 people

  24. julieallyn says:

    Toot horn made me smile….

    Liked by 1 person

  25. I see I got back just in time to have to wait. 🙂 That’s OK. I enjoyed my break and I’m sure you’ll enjoy yours. I love the yellow door and of course the little library. But you have lots of other good ones as well per usual. Here are mine and “see you in September.”

    Thursday doors…Yo, dude!

    janet

    Liked by 2 people

    • Norm 2.0 says:

      I’m sure I’ll enjoy the break too. I’m finding that for some reason Thursdays are creeping up on me quicker and quicker this summer. And with all that’s going on right now in the world I need a change. A little rest and time to focus on other things will do me some good.
      Cheers and see you in September!

      Liked by 1 person

  26. CarolynEliason says:

    Enjoy your break!

    Liked by 1 person

  27. susurrus says:

    Vegetation seems poised to take full advantage of any door that is not opened. I loved the decorative glass in the first. Narrow windows such as the one to the left of the picture are always a puzzle. They seem more there for atmosphere than to admit light. My submission is here:

    Turquoise Door With Yellow Loosestrife

    Have a wonderful three weeks holiday and stay safe!

    Liked by 2 people

  28. China Dream says:

    good morning, always enjoy all the wonderful doors/doorways… here is mine for this week https://dymoonblog.com/2020/08/13/thursday-doors-42/

    Liked by 2 people

  29. I like those neighborhood library boxes. The ants are fabulous.

    Liked by 1 person

  30. Dan Antion says:

    Great doors to finish off this visit, Norm. I love that doorbell. I do agree with you about those house numbers, you really need this to be visible.

    I’m going to join you on the break. I finished my tour of the Suffield Historic District with one last building – https://nofacilities.com/2020/08/13/mapleton-hall-thursdaydoors/

    Thank you so much for hosting this series. Enjoy the break, stay well.

    Liked by 2 people

  31. Photographias says:

    Not sure my neighbours would enjoy such a doorbell 🙂
    Here is mine:

    Thursday Doors – Óbidos

    Liked by 2 people

  32. Alison says:

    Beautiful colourful doors and very inventive too!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.