Wordless Wednesday – Some Things Are Universal

Thanks for looking 🙂

About Norm 3.0

World’s youngest grumpy old man & heart failure wonder boy. Interests: writing, woodworking, photography, travel, tennis, wine, and I know a bit about power tools.
This entry was posted in Photography, Travel, Wordless Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Wordless Wednesday – Some Things Are Universal

  1. In the time of Covid idiots are somehow gaining weight. Just look where they are. They have climbed to new lows. For some reason they are heard instead of laughed at. As if to oppose facts is a new freedom. As if facts are oppressing. Good luck to all of us.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Norm 2.0 says:

      Yes. Thank you. Exactly the point I was trying to make with someone else. Whether it’s Covid, Climate Change, Seat Belts, Speed Limits, or a million other topics, “opinions” that are derived through the denial of basic facts don’t merit debate or discussion. At best they should be ignored, not celebrated as “freedom of speech.”
      *Heads off to see if he can figure out how to close comments on an already published post* 😉

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Dan Antion says:

    I wonder if Webster will add it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Norm 2.0 says:

      I predict they will. I’m thinking this virus and its effects are a big enough human event that the word deserves a spot in the dictionary. If it does make it in, it’ll be interesting to see what they decide in terms of the actual wording for the definition.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. And the definition seems to depend which side of the issue you’re on, although that’s true not just for this.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

    • Norm 2.0 says:

      Hmm…I’m not sure exactly when denying facts and willfully ignoring the science of public health and safety became a “side”, but I’m pretty sure a virus doesn’t care which “side” someone is on when it kills them.

      Like

      • I get that, Norm, and I’m all for masks and precautions. But nothing is more certain than right now any phrase or word can be defined differently by either side whether it’s a health issue or a political issue. That was my only point. I find it very frustrating and the fact that it happens means there’s no discussion about anything without sides being drawn before it even starts…which means there’s really no discussion. Does that make sense? This just kind of sent me off on a tangent and I’m really grouchy about right now about the situation I just described. LOL.

        Like

        • Norm 2.0 says:

          I guess this is where we’ll have to agree to disagree. Your point only makes sense (to me) if we accept that somehow denying facts is the same as having an opinion. Look, we may not like certain rules; that’s an opinion. But giving oneself permission to disregard those rules by choosing to deny facts is ignorant, selfish idiocy. For example, I don’t debate or discuss the issue with an opinionated uncle who insists he has the right to drive 80 mph in a school zone if we wants to, because speed limits “restrict his freedoms”. I tell him he’s a selfish idiot who should sit down and STFU and then I give him a wide berth and pray he doesn’t kill anyone behind the wheel. Opinions based on valid quantifiable facts are always debatable and I’ll happily and respectfully discuss that with anyone who doesn’t agree with me. But opinions held by denial of facts? I have neither the time, the energy, nor the crayons to debate with people who deny facts.

          Like

  4. John Hric says:

    I imagine that the painter of that sign considered the idiots are those refusing to wear a mask or take other precautions. Down here in the states things have politized and the other faction thinks the idiots are those who acknowledge that the disease exists. I am just hoping our un-science president is un-elected next week and that we are able to survive until our new president is sworn into office. Because at this point none of us are sure what our un-ethical president will do while he is a lame duck. Damage is his middle name. Stand back, give him a wide berth. You never know what he is going to do. Except the twitter part every morning. Every morning angry twitters. Thanks Norm. Stay safe and healthy !

    Liked by 2 people

    • Norm 2.0 says:

      Yes John we have them here too. People who deny facts and selfishly ignore public health and safety guidelines just make a really difficult time that much harder for the rest of us.
      As for the election, well the rest of the world is pulling for you guys. Hopefully the U.S. is able to restore some sense of order and basic human decency because the damage extends far beyond your country’s borders my friend. Frankly I don’t think the world can take another four years of this much chaos. *Fingers crossed*

      Liked by 1 person

      • John Hric says:

        I fully agree. His foreign policy is just as bad as his domestic policy. Which is just to say on a whim. There is no policy just a reaction to hurt people including countries that are our deepest allies. He is a loose canon with no though process beyond the very moment.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. tgeriatrix says:

    Everywhere the same!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Joanne Sisco says:

    Makes me think of that expression about never underestimating the destructive power of idiots in large numbers. I think we’re seeing it at work right now.

    Liked by 3 people

Comments are closed.