Share Your World 2016 – Week 6

Cee has done this week’s Share Your World questions in the form of those famous Inside the Actors Studio interviews with James Lipton.

Oh golly this is exciting! I do give interviews from time to time in my day job but this is the first time I get to answer the same questions as George Clooney or Brad Pitt in public!

I have to say it’s a really humbling experience to be up there with such select company 😀

*Goofy bashful grin while running fingers through hair and feigning embarrassment*

Just imagine if you will that I take a moment to stare wistfully off into the distance, hand on chin as I ponder in genuine fake contemplation, before offering James my heartfelt answer to each question.

Okay enough with all the Diva talk, let’s have at it:

  1. What is your favorite word?

That’s a good one James but since I’m a bit of a polyglot, before answering that I have to ask you which language we’re talking about?

Oh never mind, I know! My word is Polyglot! Why? Because I just made a few of your viewers look it up 😀

2. What is your least favorite word?

Tolerance.

I know Tolerance is actually meant to be a positive thing. Politically correct types use it often when referring to race relations, or interactions between different religions or cultures, as if tolerance is a utopic state we should all aspire to, but I don’t buy that BS.

After all, the root word is Tolerate. As in, I can’t stand you or what you stand for, but since I have no choice, I’ll tolerate you. Gee thanks a lot.

The word should be banished from the English language and people should use the words Acceptance or Respect instead.

3. What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally?

It’s funny you should ask that James; I was discussing this over lunch with George and Brad just the other day.

A good challenge that takes me a bit beyond my comfort zone, forcing me to learn and expand my horizons, that’s what gets me going.

4. What turns you off?

Laziness, especially intellectually speaking. And close-mindedness; I mean if you really can’t consider the validity of another person’s point of view then stand over there will ya? No a little further still…yup just keep going, I’ll tell you when… 🙂

5. What is your favorite curse word?

Oh I have quite a few! I used to be a real potty-mouth in my younger days but I am getting better. F*ck is still my go-to curse word.

6. What sound or noise do you love?

Children laughing and the sound of a warm summer rain drumming on the roof.

7. What sound or noise do you hate?

Screeching tires followed by breaking glass. No wait! My neighbor’s lawnmower at HOLY SH*T is it really only 7 O’f*cking-clock on a SUNDAY MORNING???!!!

8. What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?

I think I could be a good teacher, high school probably; or maybe a tennis coach or sports psychologist.

9. What profession would you not like to do?

Bank guard in Alaska in winter has to be the most stressful job in the world. Think about it: it’s minus a gazillion outside so every customer jumps out of a car they leave running and runs in wearing a ski mask….

Okay I know, but that joke used to be funnier back in the day when people actually went into the banks and were served by people called tellers. Kids, ask your parents.

Alright then, serious answer? Drug rehab counselor. A very noble and necessary occupation indeed, but I’d find it all just too depressing. I know I couldn’t do it but I’m sure glad there’s folks that can.

10. If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates?

Yo dude! Welcome, but what the hell took you so long?

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Last weekend we had a nice little super bowl party at our place. I whipped up a huge batch of chili and Honey tried out this new baked mac’n cheese with chicken recipe. We’ll be eating leftovers for the rest of the week.

Nothing special planned during the week, but I’m looking forward to getting together with some of my cousins on the weekend to play guitar and practice some songs in preparation for our annual family jamboree this summer.

We figured this year instead of 6 hours of hanging around, drinking beer and going, “I dunno, what do you wanna play?” we decided to get together a few times between now and then to actually put together a list of songs we’ll all practice so we can play them together; should be lots of fun.

Thank you Cee! I hope you don’t mind my taking some humorous liberties with your challenge this week. All kidding aside, I assure you that the core message in each answer is sincere. 

I wouldn’t mind doing this again, but next time Cee, not to make any outrageous demands or nuthin’, but George, Brad, and I would all prefer that someone removes the brown M & M’s from the candy bowl in the green room okay? 😀

Thanks for reading 🙂

About Norm 3.0

World’s youngest grumpy old man & heart failure wonder boy. Interests: writing, woodworking, photography, travel, tennis, wine, and I know a bit about power tools.
This entry was posted in Writing Challenges and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Share Your World 2016 – Week 6

  1. reocochran says:

    I learned a lot from your answers and I still like you, Norm. Ha ha ha! 🙂

    Like

  2. There is a monologue in the play “Angels in America” where Louis rants about “tolerance” (among other things)- ending with when the shit hits the fan, tolerance goes out the window.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. pommepal says:

    Chuckle, chuckle all the way through… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I enjoyed reading this.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Cee Neuner says:

    I loved your humor and fun with these questions. Hope you had fun with James, George and Brad!!!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. facetfully says:

    Enjoyed it all! BTW, what is your real job, if I might ask? It seems it should involve words and humor!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I enjoy the same sounds but I detest cursing and the f-word in particular, so we have to agree to part ways there. Mowing too early in the morning is not the way to be a good neighbor, that’s for sure, or having a dog/dogs that you allow to bark outdoors for ages. Love your answer to #9!

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  8. cindy knoke says:

    Like your God greeting!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. joannesisco says:

    Loved your interview, but try not to discriminate against any M&M. They all need love 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Corina says:

    I am with you on “tolerance”…I don’t want to be tolerated. I want to be embraced and respected.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. joey says:

    Quite clever. I love how you responded to #3. I’m still trying to be tolerant, so I probably can’t muster anything close to acceptance yet, but I know you’re right.
    Rain on the roof is really delightful.
    I was once a bank teller. You know, in the 1900’s. Lol 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Norm 2.0 says:

      Thanks Joey. I cringe ever time I hear someone say how ‘tolerant’ they are of others. You have my respect for being a teller, that is not an easy job.

      Like

  12. joanfrankham says:

    Brilliant interview, pity about the brown M and Ms!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. jan says:

    The sound of children playing (outside preferably) and rain on the roof (pitter-patter not hurricane) are my favorite sounds too!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.