Share Your World 2016 – Week 12

Here are my answers to Cee’s Share Your World questions for this week.

Wanting something to quench your thirst, what would you drink?

Water – first, last, always, and only.

There are lots of things I can drink for pleasure but after a lifetime of being active and practicing various sports, I know my body well enough to know that the only thing I really need is water.

The annoying adjustment I’ve had to make since my heart failure diagnosis is to reprogram myself out of the habit of drinking at will to stay hydrated the way I did when I was much more active.

They now have me on a total liquid intake limit of 1.5 litres per day; I used to drink at least that much during a two-hour bike ride.

What made you feel good this past week?

What made me feel good last week? That’s a little personal don’t you think? After all, a gentleman doesn’t kiss and tell… 😉

Oh you didn’t mean that kind of feel good? Oops, sorry!

Well in that case, doing our income tax reports and knowing we’ll be getting a little back rather than having to send more to the government, that felt good.

However, the big feel good was celebrating Honey’s birthday. We went for a walk and drinks in Old Montréal before coming home to a quiet romantic supper, then I got to spoil her with breakfast the next morning too.

When you’re alone at home, do you wear shoes, socks, slippers, or go barefoot?

Unless we have visitors I almost never wear shoes in the house. In summer I’m usually barefoot.

Since I have long given up the battle for control of the household thermostat and it seems Honey would be right at home living in an Igloo, in the winter I’ll wear slippers and maybe socks. Plus a hat, and a sweater, and gloves…

Would you rather live where it is always hot or always cold?

I don’t do extreme temperatures very well so I guess it depends on how hot or how cold. Generally I find it easier to add a layer or two to warm up.

But if the choices are permanent residence in either Death Valley or Greenland, I’d probably go with the desert because, air conditioning 🙂

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

The past week or so has been a roller coaster. Literally a mix of funerals and parties. Life is like that sometimes.

So what am I grateful for?

Life and the gift of being healthy enough to enjoy it. Family, friends, loved ones, blog buddies, all of it 🙂

With a short week for the Easter holiday it’s going to be crazy at work. I’m looking forward to the long weekend though. We’re having a gang over for brunch on Easter Sunday which should be lots of fun.

Thanks for reading 🙂

About Norm 2.0

World’s youngest grumpy old man & heart failure wonder boy. Interests: writing, woodworking, photography, travel, tennis, wine, and I know a bit about power tools.
This entry was posted in Writing Challenges and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Share Your World 2016 – Week 12

  1. Leah says:

    Good roundup of random information.

    You brought up a memory. I remember when my family moved to a new town and I could not stand the taste of the tap water. I never have drunk milk. Even a kid can only drink so much fruit juice. It was summer. I was thirsty. Finally, my mom told me to have a beer. I was about 13. WOW. So thirst quenching.

    The next day, we found the local natural spring which had tasty water.

    Disclaimer: my mom isn’t THAT mom. It was usually whole wheat bread, home made everything, early bed times, fruit not sweets…. this was an emergency.

    Enjoy your gathering on Sunday, Norm! Happy Easter.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Don’t wish to spoil your joy at getting some tax money back, but when I was once similarly rejoicing, my stern auditing aunt looked me in the eye and said: “So you enjoy crediting your country like this, instead of it crediting you?” 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Leah says:

      Well, since you brought this up, I’ll echo your point. The tax goal: file on time with a zero balance. When we get money back, we have given the government an interest free loan. When we owe, we pay through the nose.

      That said, it is fun to decide how we’ll spend that $50 windfall called the income tax refund, isn’t it?

      Liked by 2 people

    • Norm 2.0 says:

      Your Aunt is absolutely right, but it’s still fun to have a little bit of ‘found’ money 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. jan says:

    Oh golly – we got the opposite news from the taxman!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes, definitely, to warm versus cold. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. facetfully says:

    Yes, your answers are, as usual, full of humor…however, I learned something. Well, I sort of learned something…had never heard about the limit of fluids after heart failure.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dan Antion says:

    I see we live under similar indoor atmospheric conditions. I have to adjust in the summer too, as she has control of the AC.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Norm 2.0 says:

      Dan I’ve always believed that after money, sex, parenting, and dealing with the inlaws, the thermostat was the biggest source of friction between couples. So in the name of domestic harmony we do what we have to do my friend 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  7. “Doesn’t kiss and tell,” that made me smile 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Cee Neuner says:

    It sounds like your and your wife had a great time last week. Keep being romantic. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  9. joey says:

    Honey likes it cold like me, I take it. The Mister is always cold, and always telling me how he’s old and he catches a chill easily. Slays me! But he hates to be hot even more, so, it’s all good.
    I liked your Feel Good interpretation, as I had similar thoughts. Heh.
    Good to read you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. “I’ll wear slippers and maybe socks. Plus a hat, and a sweater, and gloves…” Haha 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I. Greenwald says:

    Had to laugh at your answer to barefoot. I like thermostat set low and hubby is Always in woolen socks.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

