Share Your World 2016 – Week 5

Cee has put up some really good questions for this week’s Share your World.

Here are my answers:

If you had a shelf for your three most special possessions (not including photos, electronic devices and things stored on them, people or animals), what would you put on it?

That really is a tough one. I know I collect and accumulate ‘stuff’, as much as anyone and often without even thinking, but I honestly can’t point to any physical possessions that I would consider prized possessions. I mean there’s my wedding ring of course, but it has more importance to me on my finger than it would if I put it on a shelf.

If you had a box labelled ‘happiness’, what would you put in it?

That’s easy: my memories of all the good times and experiences shared with friends and loved ones.

What do you want more of in your life?

Time: To do and see, and live, and experience all of the things I want to explore. The problem is my bucket list keeps getting longer, not shorter. But isn’t that the way it is for everyone? No matter how much time we’re given, it never quite seems to be enough.

Daily Life List: What do you do on an average day? Make a list of your usual activities you do each day.

On weekdays thanks to the timer on our coffee maker, I wake up to the smell of fresh-brewed coffee every morning around 5:15

I don’t like to rush in the morning, so we enjoy that first cup and then take our time going through the morning routine before heading into town together around 6:45

I settle in and have breakfast at the office, making the rounds on the blog and other social media before my work day kicks in.

No two workdays are ever the same, which is one of the things I love about what I do. For me the main challenge of every day is fending off unplanned interruptions that can prevent me from carrying out the things that need to be done.

At the end of the day Honey and I have worked it out so that we can travel home together as often as possible.

After supper I return messages or make any phone calls I need to make including checking in on my mom. I’ll take out and iron my shirt and get my clothes ready for the next day. Then I settle in to do a little reading, work on some photos and prep blog posts, make the rounds on social media, or maybe watch a some television before bed which is around 10:00 on most weeknights.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I’ve been having fun planning and organizing our annual family curling day for later this month. Each winter over the past few years a whole bunch of us get together and rent a few sheets of ice at a local club. It’s a good excuse to get everyone together and it’s always a blast.

Next week should be pretty routine with no major plans in the works.

Thanks to Cee for organizing so many fun challenges. I don’t know where she gets the energy to manage it all, but I’m sure glad that she you does 🙂

Thanks for reading 🙂

About Norm 2.0

World’s youngest grumpy old man & heart failure wonder boy. Interests: writing, woodworking, photography, travel, tennis, wine, and I know a bit about power tools.
This entry was posted in Writing Challenges and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Share Your World 2016 – Week 5

  1. pommepal says:

    That coffee would be very welcome at 5-15am especially on a cold winter morning. Interesting challenge C puts out. Lovely to get to know a little more about bloggers I follow btw I used to get up at that time to milk cows (many years ago) so now I revel in the freedom of retirement to get up when I feel like it…

    Like

  2. I envy your waking up to the smell of fresh coffee, Norm, but not the 5:15 part! Great answers.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I consider myself organized but I think you have me beat, Norm. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. joey says:

    Great answers 🙂
    I considered that wedding ring, thing, too, but you’re totally right, of course.
    Do y’all drive in, walk in, or take a train? If one of you waits on the other, I just think that’s dreamy. Shh, don’t tell anyone. lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • Norm 2.0 says:

      We drive. When we lived in town we could, and often did, pedal to our respective offices in the summer.
      When we made the decision to move off-island we had to give that up, but we really wanted to stay a one car household. So far so good.
      Our offices are not too far from each other so it doesn’t involve major logistical challenges.
      Yes, we’ve rearranged our schedules a little and there’s a bit waiting time in there depending on the day, but we find the benefits far outweigh the inconveniences.
      There’s the extra time together, plus we can take advantage of the carpool lanes, and the money we save not having a second car can be used on other things.
      I know it’s not practical for everybody, but it works nicely for us 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. jan says:

    I like to get an early start on the day too. I let the sun wake me up most days. This morning the birds were singing – the weather will be getting into the 60s and it’s sunny so I guess they were happy!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Norm 2.0 says:

      In the summer the birds can wake me up too. Unfortunately it usually means some ungodly hour like 4:30, and apparently they’re not familiar with the concept of sleeping in on weekends 😉

      Like

  6. Cee Neuner says:

    Thanks Norm for sharing this week. I sometimes wonder where I get my energy too. All I know is that it is fun. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  7. joannesisco says:

    I feel like a sloth in comparison to you. My days of the 5:15am wake-up call are far behind me now but I do miss the sense of accomplishment from all the stuff I got done. I don’t miss it enough though to set an alarm 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

