Share Your World 2016 – Week 2

Here’s my first entry of 2016 for Cee’s Share Your World Challenge.

Do you believe in extraterrestrials or life on other planets? 

Yes absolutely. Further, I am very much convinced that they walk among us; particularly in my family and at my office 😉

Well okay, maybe that’s just me.

Realistically though, I do find it hard to believe that with tens of billions of other solar systems in the universe, our planet would be the only one that has sparked life. I’m quite certain in fact that there are sentient beings elsewhere in the universe, and just think, they too may be slaves to their smartphones!

How many places have you lived? You can share the number of physical residences and/or the number of cities.

My family was not big on moving even if we should have gotten out of a few of the crappy apartments we lived in much sooner. If memory serves me correctly I have only had six different addresses in my entire life; all in the Montréal area until Honey and I moved out to the burbs ten years ago.

If given $22 million tax-free dollars (any currency), what is the first thing you would do?

Aside from the usual answers like pay off the mortgage and set enough aside for a comfortable retirement that we could start immediately, I’d make a quiet visit to a good financial planner to explore how best to invest the rest in some sort of a trust or annuity where the interest or profits earned could be used to finance some worthy charities for years, long after I’m gone.

The Never List: What are things you’ve never done? Or things you know you never will do?

For me a list like this has several components: The things I’ll never do because they don’t interest me and things I just haven’t done yet but still hope to do.

Don’t interest me: Bungee Jumping, Skydiving, Spelunking (Potholing for those in the UK), and pretty much anything that involves temporary danger or discomfort in the name of adventure, fun, or thrill-seeking.

Just a few of the things I’ve never done that are still on my to-do list: Canoe trip on the Soper River on Baffin Island in Canada’s artic, pedal across Canada from the Pacific to the Atlantic, and attend tennis matches at all four Grand Slam events – I’ve only been to the US open so far.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Last week was about trying to get back into a regular work/life routine, but after almost two weeks of sleeping in and over-indulging…it wasn’t easy.

Now that all of the Christmas decorations are put away, the leftovers are all gone, and everything is settling back to normal, I’m looking forward to watching the number on my bathroom scale gradually go back to where it should be 😀

Many Thanks to Cee for organizing and as always, thanks to all for reading 🙂

About Norm 2.0

World’s youngest grumpy old man & heart failure wonder boy. Interests: writing, woodworking, photography, travel, tennis, wine, and I know a bit about power tools.
This entry was posted in Writing Challenges and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Share Your World 2016 – Week 2

  1. Totally with you: Don’t interest me: Bungee Jumping, Skydiving, Spelunking (Potholing for those in the UK), and pretty much anything that involves temporary danger or discomfort in the name of adventure, fun, or thrill-seeking.

    Like

  2. Whew! I was beginning to think everyone writing with Cee was required to move at least ninety times in order to qualify. It is nice to meet someone else who has been fairly stationary. Although I think you have still moved more times than I have.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jan says:

    Knowing how ruthless the tax man can be, I don’t think I’d ever want to win millions of dollars!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Cee Neuner says:

    Hi Norm. Thanks for sharing this week. I liked your lists. Both of them.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. joey says:

    I envy that you’ve seldom moved.
    I went spelunking once. It was fun. I was young and without fear. I don’t know what happened, but I can’t even go into a cave now without a panic attack. I used to want to skydive, but guess what? I don’t now. lol
    I almost said that about the financial planner. Seems to me with $22M you’d need a team, wouldn’t you? I’m sure I could manage a coupla hundred thousand just fine, but I’d need experts at the million-dollar level!
    Great post, Norm 🙂 Glad you did the SYW!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. prior2001 says:

    really wanted to say thanks for the laugh this early – the walking extra terrestials at your work and office – bahah – 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

