Friday Questions

Whenever I’m stuck for something to write about I find that these list/questionaire type posts help get me moving again, and since I’ve been in quite a writing funk lately I was glad I stumbled across this one the other day on Sheena’s blog that she had picked up from Josh:

  • What time is it where you are?

7:32 am – yeah I know, I’m one of those annoying morning people. Even. On. Weekends.

  • What one superpower do you wish you could have?

I just waste way too much time in traffic, so I wish I could fly.

  • Are you lonesome tonight?

Never; for a lot of reasons but mostly because I’m a very lucky man.

  • What are you wearing?

*Raises an eyebrow and answers all flirty-like* Why? What are YOU wearing you naughty devil? 😛

  • Any big plans for the weekend?

Yup. We’re entertaining a special visitor from out of town. Watch out Instagramers I may be posting pics of my fancy-pants restaurant supper tonight.

  • Are you in love?

Yes, very much so. 21 years and counting. Did I already mention that I’m a very lucky man?

  • Do you have a crush?

Who needs crushes when you have love?

  • Does that person know?

See previous question. Gee – you’re just not paying attention are you?

  • If you could be anywhere in the world right now, where would it be?

Well there’s this rental villa with an ocean view in Andalusia that’s been on my “must visit” list for a while now…

  • What one book would you most want to read on a deserted island?

The Count of Monte Cristo seems appropriate, no?

  • Cats, dogs, or both?

As I always say, it depends on the recipe you use, but I think they can both be equally delicious when cooked properly.

Wait, that wasn’t the gist of the question? Oh okay, dogs then. 😀

  • Favorite time of year?

With this heart failure condition I don’t do extreme heat or extreme cold very well anymore, so spring or fall work best for me.

  • Favorite hobby?

Photography – d’uh…

  • Do you get along with your parents?

My dad passed away a few years ago but we always got along very well.

I’m good with my mom now but that wasn’t the case through most of my youth. Long story; ’nuff said.

  • Do you believe in love at first sight?

Lust or attraction yes but not love; at least not by MY definition of love.

In my opinion the recipe for love takes time and contains a whole lot of ingredients: attraction, affection, trust, respect, commitment, mutual support, empathy, patience, genuine friendship, and a sprinkling of fairy dust.

  • What is the most embarrassing thing you’ve ever done?

Hmmm, where do I start?

The earliest one that comes to mind is barfing on my classmate Laura’s shoes while on the bus on an elementary school field trip.

You see I used to get motion sickness pretty bad as a kid and I was trying to get to the toilet at the back of the bus.

I made it in time but someone else was already in there. What made it worse is that Laura was there banging on the door trying to help me and this is what she got for her troubles.

As long as I live I’ll never forget that horrified look on her face. 😦

  • What has been your greatest accomplishment so far?

Staying alive and rebuilding my life after coming so close to dying a few years ago. In all honesty though, I didn’t do it alone – I had a LOT of help.

  • Are you missing anybody right now?

Some friends and family members who now live far away…sometimes, but my dad and my grandmother always.

  • What do you want to be when you grow up?

Grow up? Pfffft – yeah like that’s ever gonna happen!

  • Do you have a celebrity crush?

Not really. You may find me boring but I never really saw the point of pining over someone I’ll probably never meet and who probably wouldn’t be interested even if I did.

Mind you if Catherine Deneuve is ever in Montreal and looking for a dinner companion…

“Garçon, une table pour deux dans un coin tranquil s’il vous plait.”

As always thanks for reading and hey, you may want to give this one a try yourself – it was lots of fun.

About Norm 2.0

World’s youngest grumpy old man & heart failure wonder boy. Interests: writing, woodworking, photography, travel, tennis, wine, and I know a bit about power tools.
This entry was posted in Humor, Writing Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Friday Questions

  1. desleyjane says:

    Love this post Norm. Especially cats or dogs!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lots of fun to read (as well as to write, I’m sure.)

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for sharing more about yourself! Got a little nervous at first about your response on cats or dogs! 🙂 Glad you answered dogs!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. “and a sprinkling of fairy dust.” so true 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. narami says:

    Your answers are AWESOME.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. joannesisco says:

    “it depends on the recipe you use, but I think they can both be equally delicious when cooked properly” {SNORT!} Glad I had swallowed by coffee by this point!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. facetfully says:

    I may have to borrow this when I get back to blogging…soon, I hope!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. quiall says:

    So . . you like quiet corners mon ami? Good to know. Oh and I have few good recipes . . .

    Liked by 1 person

  9. There could be a whole post about celebrity pining or viewing them as role models. A role model to me is Lincoln or Jefferson, and I’ve never pined over someone who doesn’t know I exist. As with you though, there are several folks I’d enjoy dinner conversation with. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

