Share Your World 2015 – Week 20

Here are my answers to Cee’s weekly prompt: Share Your World – Week 20

What is the most important thing that you ever learned? (I bet it’s not something you learned in school)

Probably learning to keep an open mind and not judge others simply by what we see on the surface. Everyone has a story and everyone carries baggage that we couldn’t possibly know about or fully understand. It’s not always easy to do of course, but knowing and accepting that no two people see things exactly the same way makes it much easier to get along with others.

What feeds your enthusiasm for life? 

I’m lucky enough to be curious by nature, so I always want to know how things work or why they are the way they are. I can wake up any morning with enthusiasm about something new to explore and discover.

What’s your most memorable (good or bad) airplane commercial or private flight?

A few years back we visited a childhood friend of mine who lives in Nova Scotia now. At the time he had just gotten his small craft pilot’s license so he surprised us with a flight out of a small local airport. He had rented a tiny little four seater to take us up in. I’d never been in such a small plane before but it was so much fun.

flight 01

We flew around over the shores of the bay of Fundy for about an hour, and at one point he even let me take the controls for a few minutes.

flight 02

If you were a great explorer, what would you explore?

I’m not a great explorer but I’d love to spend some time in Canada’s far north. Though it’s hard for some to believe, the National Parks on Baffin Island or Ellesmere Island are so remote that from Montreal it’s easier and less expensive to get to China than to visit the arctic.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I’m extremely grateful for the antibiotics that helped me get over a case of pneumonia that I got hit with a few weeks back. I took some time off to rest up and let myself get better. In the meantime I’m gradually easing myself back into a regular routine. I’m not quite 100% yet; my body is still demanding 8-10 hours of sleep per day, but I am doing much better than a few weeks ago.

For the coming week I’m looking forward to going back to the doctor for a follow up chest X-ray, and hopefully everything will be clear and she’ll give me the green light to get back to business as usual.

As always, thank you for reading 🙂

About Norm 2.0

World’s youngest grumpy old man & heart failure wonder boy. Interests: writing, woodworking, photography, travel, tennis, wine, and I know a bit about power tools.
This entry was posted in Writing Challenges and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Share Your World 2015 – Week 20

  1. I am a new reader to your blog, thanks to the Thursday Doors series. I haven’t contributed to that. Yet. But what compels me to write today is to acknowledge your recent bout with pneumonia. I too am about 6 weeks in recovery. As are two of my friends here in Southern Ontario – we three were hit with a lung “thing” on about the same day early April. It is mildly frightening how potent and widespread it seems to be, but then, germs are like that aren’t they?
    I wish for you a full and immediate recovery!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Norm 2.0 says:

      Thanks Maggie. I’m getting there slow but sure. In the meantime, do feel free to jump in with a door post of your own any Thursday that strikes you.
      Hope to see you back soon 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey! Glad to see you’re back! Hope you’re fully recovered 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Rose Red says:

    Nice hat.

    Good to see you getting about

    Liked by 1 person

  4. hollie says:

    glad to hear you are feeling better, I’ve been thinking of you!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. jan says:

    You’re a braver man than me (well, a braver person – I’m not a man). My father had a small plane and liked to scare the wits out of me!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Cee Neuner says:

    Your plane flight sounds like it was so fun. I’ve been in a 8-seater commercial plane (plus pilots) and that was the most fun I’ve had in a plane. I can’t imagine what a four-seater would have been like. So glad you are feeling better.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Glad you are on the way up Norm, welcome back.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Dan Antion says:

    Good to see that you’re feeling better Norm. I have to say, I was amazed at your comment about travel to the arctic. I guess I just thought you could get in your car and drive up there.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Felicity says:

    This is good to hear, that you are on the mend! And, a great post, entertaining and informative 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Glad you are feeling better, Norm. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

