Share Your World 2015 – Week 10

Here are my answers to Cee’s weekly prompt: Share Your World – Week 10

When you lose electricity in a storm, do you light the candles or turn on the flashlight? How many of each do you own?

I have a thing for candles so that is our primary source of light when the power goes out. We keep a flashlight and a battery powered lantern too, but we have dozens of candles and keep several in each room.

Note: For fire safety reasons we never leave candles burning unattended in rooms that are not occupied – not even for just a few minutes. We also have battery-operated smoke and fire detectors as well as a few fire extinguishers, strategically placed throughout our home.

You are given $5,000 and the chance to exchange it for one of two envelopes. One envelope contains $50,000 and one contains $500. Do you make the trade? Why or why not?

Someone wants to hand me $5,000 no strings attached? I don’t need to gamble for more when there’s a 50% chance that I’ll end up with less.

If the odds are not substantially in my favor I’ll just take the $5,000 and be quite happy with it, thank you very much.

Hey, it’s a windfall so why be greedy? A little for the mortgage, a little for my retirement fund, and a little for my favorite local charity. I’m good with that.

What’s your first memory?

The oldest memory that I can think of was also the first time I ever told a lie. I was probably about three years old, sitting on the kitchen floor and my mom walked in just after I’d finished drawing her a pretty picture with my wax crayons (crayola) on the kitchen cabinet doors.

My pride quickly changed to concern as I realized by the stern look on her face that the chosen location for my artwork was not as good as I thought.

When my mom asked me who had written all over her cabinet doors, I gave her my best gee whoever could it have been look and replied, “Uncle Nellie did it.” Needless to say my uncle wasn’t even there.

So this was also the first time I earned myself a firm smack on the bum for lying; yes parents still did that back then.

The good thing that came out of it was that from then on, whenever my crayons came out my mom always made sure I had paper to write on 🙂

What do you do if you can’t sleep at night? Do you count sheep, toss and turn, or get up and try to do something?

I’ll usually wait until I’m absolutely certain that sleep isn’t happening and then quietly slip out of bed so as not to disturb Honey. I’ll grab a fleece blanket and a pillow and head downstairs to lay on the sofa and watch TV.

Often the sound of the TV is enough to help me fall asleep, especially if I can find a soccer game on one of the sports chanels; talk about zzzzzz….. 🙂

I decided to skip the bonus questions this week since there really isn’t anything new to announce on that front.

Thank you for reading 🙂

About Norm 2.0

World’s youngest grumpy old man & heart failure wonder boy. Interests: writing, woodworking, photography, travel, tennis, wine, and I know a bit about power tools.
This entry was posted in Writing Challenges and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Share Your World 2015 – Week 10

  1. reocochran says:

    I like lighting candles, too, Norm. I prefer them over flashlights. I have every weekend my grandchildren come over, flashlights out, since my grandies enjoy playing hide and seek in the dark. We have six so when we go exploring the hills and campus of Ohio Wesleyan where we cross three different bridges to get over there, we go on flashlight walks. I took off on your first one and will say as far as the envelopes, I would stick with the ‘guaranteed $5000,’ too. I enjoyed your memory of being so young.and telling a lie. I felt a spank on the bum is about right. I gave a few little ones to my own 3 children until they were about 6, then I came up with punishments that went with the crime… smiles!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dan Antion says:

    I like your answers. I’m a flashlight kind of guy but that might have something to do with sharing our house with two cats and a dog. Keep the certsin 5k? Oh yeah. No need for greed.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Gosh, I’m so much like you…on these answers.
    Nothing makes me as tired as a television. And the answer to how to get my kids to sleep was always to turn on the news. Not just any old news, but somethin with a NASDAQ ticker 😉 Haha!
    I am a candle burner, too. My youngest likes to hold a flashlight AT ALL TIMES during outages. She has her own now. Heh.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Cee Neuner says:

    Thanks Norm for sharing this week. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. hollie says:

    I need to learn to get up when I can’t sleep: I keep thinking I’ll fall back to sleep but I end up just laying awake. I have tried the change in location trick and moved to the couch or to Owen’s room and sometimes that helps!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. NotAPunkRocker says:

    I have found the golf channel helps with my insomnia too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

