Macro Monday – Jack Frost Nipping…

I’m getting good at taking wintry shots without actually going out in the cold πŸ™‚

Here are some interesting frost patterns on an exterior window that I captured during our most recent -30C cold spell.

With the 40mm f/2.8 macro lens I was able to get within a few inches of the window.

I love to follow the patterns the ice crystals make as they expand over the frozen surface.

It was funny because as I opened the inside window to get as close as possible, the heat from inside the house starting melting the ice and you can actually see the water droplets on the outside window.

Window frost 1

Window Frost 2

 

Window Frost 4

Thanks for looking πŸ™‚

About Norm 2.0

World’s youngest grumpy old man & heart failure wonder boy. Interests: writing, woodworking, photography, travel, tennis, wine, and I know a bit about power tools.
This entry was posted in Macro Monday, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Macro Monday – Jack Frost Nipping…

  1. Bernice says:

    Oh wow that is brutally cold! We were at -7F today and I thought that was cold! But that seems a bit toasty compared to your temps! The pictures are beautiful!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lizbert1 says:

    What fantastic photos of the beauty of nature! I love them! Well shot!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Cee Neuner says:

    Your photos are making me cold just looking at them. Wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Amy Sampson says:

    Nice! I don’t have a lot of wintery shots because I don’t like going out in the cold. Looks like you found a great solution to that problem.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Trent Lewin says:

    Those are gorgeous – but stop reminding me of my cold, miserable existence! Can’t you see anything warm out your window? Well, I guess that’s not really possible… you could always go on vacation, no?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Colline says:

    These patterns are certainly a sign to me that it is cold out. Brr!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Beautiful photos. They let your imagination wander.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. desleyjane says:

    Those are gorgeous photos Norm – stunning!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

