The Difference Between Men and Women – Overheard at the Coffee Shop #1

A weekday morning conversation overheard between a couple in a coffee shop.

Image courtesy of amenic181 at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of amenic181 at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Her: Don’t forget I have that appointment after work so you’ll be driving home alone tonight.

Him: Okay, call me when you arrive at the train station, I’ll come pick you up.

Her: My appointment’s at 5:30, I should be out by 6:15. If I catch the 6:30 train I’ll be at the station by 7:10 or so.

Pause…

Her: But I can take the bus from there…

Him: You’ll be home faster if you call me from the train and I pick you up at the station.

Her: If I arrive at 7:10 the next bus leaves the station at 7:25 so I could be home by quarter to eight.

Him (insistent): But if I pick you up, you’ll be home a little after 7:15

Her: If the timing works and the train arrives a little early, I might even catch the 7:05 bus and be home before 7:30…

Him: But it’s still faster if I…

Pause…

Him (capitulating sigh): Okay then, so you’ll take the bus home from the station.

Her: Unless you WANT to pick me up at the station…

The poor guy 😀

Lord knows I’ve had a few good ones over the years myself but I sometimes wonder how often conversations like this happen in a typical relationship.

About Norm 2.0

World’s youngest grumpy old man & heart failure wonder boy. Interests: writing, woodworking, photography, travel, tennis, wine, and I know a bit about power tools.
This entry was posted in Humor, Opinions and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Difference Between Men and Women – Overheard at the Coffee Shop #1

  1. Rose Red says:

    I think when she said she would take the bus home he should have said, ‘Okay, see you then!!’ Problem averted.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Hi Norm, I’m laughing here, exactly like me.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my – I have those conversations with my husband on a daily basis. And, I do think it is more prevalent with those couples who have been married a long time. But, it is nice to know that we’re not alone. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Bernice says:

    That is hilarious! I would never turn down a ride from the train!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Janice Heck says:

    Ummmm. This sounds a bit familiar. (I didn’t know you were listening!) Oh. That was someone else? Ahhh. Good.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. John says:

    I laughed as I read this because it sounds typical of a conversation I would have with my wife. I would hazard a guess that this happens to every couple especially ones who have been together for a while.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

