Thursday Doors – September 4, 2014

Last week my WordPress and Twitter buddy/friend/kid sister/niece (we haven’t figured it out yet: she’s blonde – it’s complicated), That Montreal Girl launched her weekly series on another one of my favourite photography subjects: Doors

Here’s my first entry, and as a tip of the hat to the lady who started this, it’s from The Palmer House in one of my favourite cities, Chicago.

This is one of the hand-wrought “Peacock Doors” that lead to the stunning lobby and dining area that are among the most beautifully done interior spaces I have ever seen. If you ever get the chance to visit the Loop District in downtown Chicago do yourself a favour and check this place out, and don’t forget your camera:

DSC_4266

Thanks for looking 🙂

About Norm 2.0

World’s youngest grumpy old man & heart failure wonder boy. Interests: writing, woodworking, photography, travel, tennis, wine, and I know a bit about power tools.
This entry was posted in Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Thursday Doors – September 4, 2014

  1. Rose Red says:

    I’ve been there a few times. The door is exquisite and the lobby is a work of art by itself.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Norm 2.0 says:

      I really didn’t take all the time I wanted to explore and take more pics. I’ll definitely have to go back again.

      Like

      • Rose Red says:

        You won’t be disappointed. But then again you could do a tour online. There are many great photos of it. So much artwork and a hand-painted mural on the ceiling. In the 80’s I remember when they redid the lobby and the marble if you get up close to it you’ll see that the marbling is all hand painted. Very neat.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Rose Red says:

        Oh and p.s. I will trouble you with one more interesting fact, you should look up the story of the hotel from the time of the fire, if you don’t already know it.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I love it 🙂 Thanks for the shout out. Much needed today.

    Like

  3. Elizabeth says:

    I love doors, this one is gorgeous!

    Like

Leave a Reply

