Garden Update July 2014

As I mentioned in my previous post http://wp.me/p4yv1P-1I we put the garden in about six weeks ago, so I figured it was time for an update.

We’ve had a rainy first part to the season which has been good for the weeds, but it means that we’re off to a bit of a slow start.

So far all we’ve harvested has been lots of lettuce,

Lettuce 02

Lettuce 01

and a fair number of radishes. In fact it looks like I planted too many radishes and now as the weather heats up some of the larger ones that we haven’t picked yet, are going to seed.

Radish

The rest is really taking time to fill in.

The cukes are finally flowering

Cukes 02

and I always marvel at they way they reach out with their tendrils to find something to grab onto.

Cukes 03

A few summers ago I started building trellisses to make it easier for them to climb and have been rewarded with very productive cukes ever since.

A few other plants that like to have something to climb up are Butternut Squash

Butternut Squash

and snow peas.

By the looks of it, we’ll probably be eating fresh Snow Peas later this week.

Snow Peas

The carrots and spinach had a slow start but they’re finally starting to take.

Carrots

Spinach

The Zucchinis should be flowering in another week or so

Zucchini 01

and our first Eggplant has started to take shape, despite the fact that the plant itself doesn’t seem to be in great shape.

Eggplant

At this point in the season we’re usually already snacking on Cherry Tomatoes by now but it looks like we’re still a few weeks away from that point this year.

Tomato

Just when I thought they were not going to take at all, some of the Turnips I planted started coming up this week.

Turnip

I didn’t get any shots of the Beets, the Green and Yellow Bush Beans, nor of the Swiss Chard yet, but all of those are doing well.

We’re looking forward to some sunny days in next little while and hopefully we’ll be eating lots more garden-fresh veggies soon.

Stay tuned for further updates as the summer progresses, and happy gardening!

 

 

About Norm 2.0

World’s youngest grumpy old man & heart failure wonder boy. Interests: writing, woodworking, photography, travel, tennis, wine, and I know a bit about power tools.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Garden Update July 2014

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Nice garden Norm2! I started a garden this spring as well, I seeded lettuce, tomatoes, peppers…., but I had a problem in my right arm and I couldn’t take care of the weeds. They took over and until now I only got few lettuce heads. Last year I took a good care of it, I had a wonderful harvest.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your garden looks good. I ate a handful of peas last night on a salad with lettuce from the garden. We literally can’t eat the lettuce fast enough even with the rabbit and chickens helping out. 🙂 I need to pull what is left of our radishes and plant some more, and we’re just waiting for everything else to mature. Happy gardening.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Norm 2.0 says:

      Waiting for things to mature is the nature of the game isn’t it? Learning to be patient and letting things run their natural course. Plus it gives us things to look forward to! Thanks for your visit 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

